Dr. M. M. Joshi Oration Award

Hubli, 16-17 December

Dr. R.D. Ravindran, Chairman, & Director-Quality, Aravind Eye Care System was honoured with the Padmashree Dr. M. M. Joshi Oration Award by MM Joshi Eye Institute during the Eye Fest 2023, held in Hubli.

Dr. R.D. Ravindran receiving the Padmashree Dr. M. M. Joshi Oration Award

Dr. Samir Kumar Biswas Memorial Oration Award

Kolkata, 15-17 December

Dr. R. Kim, Chief Medical Officer, Aravind-Madurai, was honoured with the Dr. Samir Kumar Biswas Memorial Oration Award 2023, at the 54th Annual conference held at Kolkata. He delivered a talk on the topic, Technology in retinal disease management.

Dr. R. Kim receiving the Dr. Samir Kumar Biswas Memorial Oration Award

5th Annual Conference of the Indian Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (INOS)

Hyderabad, 9-10 December

Dr. Jayasri K. N., Medical Consultant, Department of Neuro-Ophthalmology, Aravind-Madurai, won second prize in the poster podium presentation titled  Linezolid-induced toxic optic neuropathy: A case series.
Dr. Sabarinath A., MS Resident, Aravind-Madurai, received third prize in the poster podium presentation titled Visual outcome in patients treated with high-dose corticosteroids for indirect traumatic optic neuropathy.
Dr. Utami Noor Syabaniyah, Neuro Trainee, Aravind-Coimbatore, secured third prize in the poster podium presentation titled Nerve rattling infections: Clinical and radiological tracing of cranial nerve palsy due to skull base osteomyelitis.

Dr. Jayasri K. N., on the left, receiving second prize in the poster podium presentation
Dr. Sabarinath A., on the right, receiving third prize in the poster podium presentation
Dr. Utami Noor Syabaniyah, on the left, receiving third prize in the poster podium presentation

Young Researcher Award

Rajasthan, 9-10 December

Dr. Athul S. Puthalath, Retina Fellow, Aravind-Madurai, has won the Young Researcher Award in the Innovations and Patent category at the National Biomedical Research Competition organised by the Society of Young Biomedical Scientists (SYBS).

Dr. Athul S. Puthalath, on the left, receiving the Young Researcher Award

Dr. T. Kumaraguru Award TIMACON

Erode, 9-10 December

Dr. R. Ramakrishnan, Advisor, Aravind-Tirunelveli, was conferred with the Dr. T. Kumaraguru Award for Community Service.

Dr. R. Ramakrishnan, third from the left, receiving the Dr. T. Kumaraguru Award

32nd Annual Conference of the Vitreo Retina Society of India

Trivandrum, 1-3 December

Dr. Bhavani S., Medical Consultant, Aravind-Madurai, won the Best Image of the Year Award – 2023, for her image titled Clew of worms appearance gave a clue to diagnosis.

Dr. Bhavani S

CII Western Region Innovation in Healthcare and Hospital Technology Awards

 Mumbai, 23-24 November

Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai, has secured two first- runner-up positions in two categories: Best Healthcare Digital Initiative for the eyeNotes EMR product and Best Health Tech Innovation for the Automated Retinal Disease Assessment (ARDA) project.

Deepa Krishnan, Business Analyst, Auroitech, in the centre of the photo, receiving the runner-up award on behalf of Aravind-Madurai

JIPMER Retina Update 2023

Pondicherry, 26th November

Dr. Shraddha Shah, Retina Fellow, Aravind-Madurai, won first prize in the Case Challenge session, and Dr. Roopa K.S., Retina Fellow, Aravind-Pondicherry, won The Best E-Poster

Award for his poster titled A rare case of RDH12 retinopathy in two brothers at the event organised by the Department of Ophthalmology, JIPMER, under the aegis of the Pondicherry Ophthalmologists’ Association.

Comprehensive Cataract Conference (CCC) & 5th Biennial World Conference of the International Society of Manual Small Incision Cataract Surgeons (ISMSICS)

Hyderabad, 17-19 November

Dr. R.D. Ravindran, Chairman, Aravind Eye Care System, was presented with the Dr. PN Nagpal Outstanding Contribution in Ophthalmology Award in appreciation of his dedicated service and commitment in the field of ophthalmology at the conference held at the Leonia Convention Centre, Hyderabad.
Dr. Madhu Shekhar, Chief, Intraocular Lens & Cataract Services, Aravind-Madurai, received
Runner-up in the video competition for his video titled Unravel the clues of zonular compromise  and secured runner-up at the e-Poster competition for his poster titled MSICS in intralenticular metallic foreign body.
Dr. R. Sankarananthan, Medical Consultant, Aravind-Salem, received the Best free paper award for the paper titled Objective assessment of simulated surgical outcomes using a manual small-incision surgery virtual reality simulator.
Dr. V. R. Vivekanandan, Chief, Cataract Services, Aravind-Pondicherry, won the Dr. Y. M. Paranjape Innovative Video award for the video titled A novel flanged method for iridadialysis repair.
Dr. Naveen Nischal, Medical Officer, Aravind-Pondicherry, won the Dr. Debasish Bhattacharya the Best Video Award for the video titled Flanged scleral fixation of IOL-A novel 4 flanged technique using a regular PMMA IOL.

Dr. Madu Shekhar, on the left, receiving Runner-up prize in the video competition
Best free paper award to Dr. R. Sankaranathan
Innovative video award to Dr. V.R. Vivekanandan

“Seva Foundation 2023 - Call for Ideas” Project Grants


Dr. Athul S. Puthalath, Retina Fellow, Aravind-Madurai, won the “Seva Foundation 2023 – Call for Ideas” Project Grants.

Title: BLU (Blue Light Unit) Patch: The future of smartphone aided blue light photography in tele-ophthalmology, and READ – Rapid evaluation and diagnosis of external ocular lesions to aid in tele-ophthalmology