First prize at Farm Fest 2024

Pondicherry, 9-11 February

Aravind-Pondicherry won first prize at the institutional level in the Farm Fest 2024-cum-34th Flower, Vegetable, and Fruit Show organised by the Department of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Government of Puducherry.

Padma Shri Award

26th January

Dr. G. Natchiar, Director Emeritus, Aravind Eye Care System (AECS), was conferred with the Padma Shri Award 2024, one of India’s highest civilian honours, by the Government of India, in recognition of her exceptional and compassionate patient care in the field of medicine spanning over 55 years.

Second Prize for LumiZoom

Pondicherry, 2nd February

At the CII Pondicherry Innovation Contest, a team comprising Dr. Kunal A Mandlik, Dr. Prabhu Krishna, and Dr. Nishant Vivekanand, DNB residents, Aravind-Pondicherry, and Dr. Kunjal, DNB resident, Aravind-Chennai, secured second place for their innovative device, LumiZoom.



Medical Consultants from Aravind-Madurai, Dr. Anchitha Meenu, Dr. Meri Debbarma, and Dr. Sivadarshan, and Retina Fellows, Dr. Ananya Goswami, Dr. Athul S. Puthlath, Dr. Avik Dey Sarkar, Dr. Kulsum Sayyad, Dr. Pragathi, Dr. Raghavendra, Dr. Reshma Dara, Dr. Saumya Jain, Dr. Shivani Srivatsava, Dr. Shraddha Shah, and Dr. Toshit Varshney have successfully cleared the FAICO examination.

PSG Vishwa Seva Rathna Award

Coimbatore, 25th January

Dr. P. Namperumalsamy, Chairman Emeritus, AECS, was honoured with the PSG Vishwa Seva Rathna Award by PSG & Sons’ Charities, Coimbatore, on the occasion of the 98th Founders’ Day.

Dr. P. Namperumalsamy second from the left, holding the PSG Vishwa Seva Rathna Award during the 98th Founders’ Day of PSG & Sons’ Charitie

Prof. N.N. Sood Lecture Award

Delhi, 2-4 February

Dr. R. Ramakrishnan, Advisor, Aravind-Tirunelveli, was conferred with the Prof. N.N. Sood Lecture award at the 57th Annual Foundation Day Celebrations of Dr. Rajendra Prasad Centre for Ophthalmic Sciences, AIIMS, Delhi.

Dr. R. Ramakrishnan delivering the Prof. N.N. Sood Lecture
Dr. R. Ramakrishnan receiving the award at the 57th Annual Foundation Day